Connect with us


FLASH: Tinubu Makes New Appointments



For advert placement, news publication, event coverage and promotions, call or Whatapp; +2349037160966

The President Bola Tinubu led Government has appointed 11 new Chief Medical Directors for the Federal Government established medical facilities in the country.

This was disclosed on Thursday, in a press statement signed by the Director of Press, FMoH, Patricia Deworitshe, and made available to our correspondent.

The statement noted that the Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Health, Kachollom Daju presented the letters of appointment for an initial four-year tenure which will take effect from August 1, 2023, to the new CMDs in Abuja.

The new CMDs are Prof Nyandanti Yakub Wilberforce – Federal Medical Centre, Hong, Adamawa State; Prof Issa Baba Awoye – Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Buddo-Egba, Kwara State; Dr Umar Faruk Abdumajid – FMC, Daura, Katsina State; Dr Muhammad Shittu Adamu –FMC, Wase, Plateau; Prof Shuaibu Jauro Yahya – FMC, Mubi, Adamawa State; Dr Mercy Anugwu – FMC, Onitsha, Anambra State; Prof Auwalu Sani Salihu– FNPH, Dawanau, Kano State; Prof Rufai Ahmed – Registrar/ Chief Executive Officer, Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Board of Nigeria.


Others include Prof Mangwa Kortar – FMC, Makurdi, Benue State; Prof Robinson Chukwudi Onoh – Alex Ekwueme, Federal University Teaching Hospital, Abakiliki, Ebonyi State; and Dr Nurudeen Isa – National Orthopaedic Hospital, Dala, Kano State.

Daju, however, charged the new CMDs to work with the health workers and stakeholders as a team and explore all necessary avenues to provide a conducive work environment and infrastructure aimed at achieving high-standard healthcare services.

According to her, “It may be challenging, but there is no challenge that is unsurmountable and your appointment is an indication of the confidence that the Federal Government reposed on you.”

She urged them to bring the skill and wealth of experience they acquired over the years to bear in their various health facilities noting that their performance will determine the renewal of their tenure.

Daju assured that the ministry will provide necessary support with the available resources to enable them to meet the hospital standard.

In response, on behalf of the newly appointed directors, Dr Anugwu expressed appreciation to President Bola Tinubu and the ministry for finding them worthy of the appointment.

“We will do our best to improve the lot of our people, to justify the confidence reposed in us by the President and the Ministry, we will put in what it takes to move the health care system in our facilities going forward, we will not rest, we will move along with the vision of Mr. President and make sure that our people receive the best, we will not disappoint you,” she said.

For advert placement, news publication, event coverage and promotions, call or Whatapp; +2349037160966
[mailpoet_form id="1"]

Follow us on Facebook

Recent Posts